WSF logo

artemisthumb.gif (3161 bytes)

Artemis Program

On 11 December 2017, Space Policy Directive 1 was published. In it, the administration of NASA was directed to:
    “Lead an innovative and sustainable program of exploration with commercial and international partners to enable human expansion
    across the solar system and to bring back to Earth new knowledge and opportunities. Beginning with missions beyond low-Earth orbit,
    the United States will lead the return of humans to the Moon for long-term exploration and utilization, followed by human missions
    to Mars and other destinations;”

As a result, on 14 May 2019, the Artemis Program was born. Artemis was the twin sister of Apollo and, in Greek mythology, goddess of the moon.

The current objectives of the Artemis Program is to return to the moon by 2024, landing the next man and first woman. Mars will be the objective by the 2030's. Artemis will be primarily US funded, but private sector and international cooperation is also being sought.

On 13 October 2020, The Artemis Accords (Principles for Cooperation in the Civil Exploration and Use of the Moon, Mars, Comets, and Asteroids for Peaceful Purposes) was signed by the United States, Australia, Canada, Italy, Japan, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the United Arab Emirates, and the United Kingdom.

NASA has broken the Artemis Program into six components:

On 9 December 2020, NASA announced the selection of 18 astronauts for the Artemis Group. This group will begin training for the Artemis Program.

Artemis Flight Schedule

Proposed later missions:


Page last modified: 11 January 2024 09:39:30.